WHAT MAKES A SCHARFF VIOLIN SO SPECIAL?

The Timber

Scharff lumbers his own timber from the Trentino region of northern Italy, where the silica enriched soil enhances the best resonance characteristics. For the back of his violins Scharff carefully chooses Bosnian maple, up to 100 years old.

The Size

The major component for the Italian belcanto of my instruments and flamed structure of the timber is the ground and undercoats, used by the legendary violin makers from Italy”. Years of library research and alchemist experiments have produced the desired results: The classic Italian size accentuates the structure of the timber in its clearest and most golden-tone, filters out the dissonant overtones, gives the treble a tenor-ale clarity and allows the bass tones to resonate.

The Varnish

Protects the timber and delays the natural wear through playing. The specifically prepared varnishes are composed of an assortment of different resins, oils and colour pigments. These are optically enriched so that the instrument is optically stimulating when initially observed and throughout its daily usage.

The Sound

The claims entrusted to the sound of the instrument demand the quality of an expensively classical, and simultaneously the vitality of a modern ‘state of the art’ instrument. This brilliant spectrum of sounds inspires both the classical and contemporary musical trends. It is this distinct sound of Scharff‘s instruments, recognised by expert musicians which emphasises the continuity of his instruments.



Scharff Violins are unique instruments.
They will be played by outstanding German and international
musicians.

Due to their unusual strong sound they are particularly
suitable for the solistic use.


You may find pictures of current instruments here ->

Was macht Scharff Geigen so besonders?


Das Holz

Das selbst geschlagene Fichtenholz stammt aus dem Trentino. Die dortige Erde verleiht durch ihren hohen Siliziumgehalt dem Holz beste Resonanzeigenschaften. Für den Boden benutzt Scharff ausgewählten, bis zu 100 Jahre alten bosnischen Ahorn

Die Grundierung

Als hauptverantwortliche Komponente für den italienischen belcanto meiner Instrumente und die Anfeuerung der Holzstruktur betrachte ich die Grundierung, die bereits die italienischen Altmeister verwendet haben“. Jahrelange Recherchen in Bibliotheken und alchimistische Experimente haben den gewünschten Erfolg gebracht: Die altitalienische Grundierung zeichnet die Holzstruktur in klarster und goldfarbener Manier, filtert zudem dissonante Obertöne heraus und gibt den Höhen eine tenorale Klarheit und lässt die Tiefen grundtönig erklingen.

Der Lack

Er schützt das Holz und verzögert die natürliche Abnutzung beim Spiel. Die eigens zubereiteten Lacke werden durch eine Komposition verschiedenster Harze, Öle und Farbpigmente optisch so angereichert, dass das Instrument nicht nur beim ersten Anblick, sondern auch im täglichen Gebrauch das Auge stimuliert.

Der Klang

Der Anspruch an den Klang verlangt die Qualität eines teuren alten und gleichzeitig die Vitalität eines modernen Instrumentes. Mit solch brillantem Klangspektrum begeistert es dann sowohl in klassischer wie in zeitgenössischer Musikrichtung. Scharff Instrumente erkennen fachkundige Musiker inzwischen am Klang, das unterstreicht die Kontinuität der Instrumente.

Galerie

Neue Geigen



Scharff Geigen sind einzigartige Instrumente.
Sie werden von hervorragenden deutschen und internationalen Meistern
gespielt.
Auf Grund ihres außergewöhnlichen druckvollen Klanges eignen sie sich
ganz besonders für den solistischen Gebrauch.

Aktuelle Instrumente finden Sie hier ->