born 1962 in Saarlouis, Germany, was raised in a musical family. Learning to play at the age of six he quickly discovered his passion for stringed instruments, the pleasure of the fascinating sound and the aesthetically pleasing radiance of the instruments.

Throughout his technical training and professional development Scharff continued his musical career, playing and performing as concertmaster in the Saarland orchestra and as soloist and violinist with the “Isartal Symphony Orchestra”.

Scharff completed his master examination in violin making in 1995 after having been trained and educated over years in his father’s workshop in Mannheim and by his instructing masters Peter Erben and Stephan Gaes in Munich.

He gathered further insight into the philosophy of violin making through professional development ‘workshops’ by Jürgen von Stietencron in Italy, H.K. Schmidt in Dresden and Francois Perego in Mittenwald.
His violins have been exhibited in the Jacob Stainer competition (in Freiburg 1990,1993 and 2001, Prague 1993 and Wiesbaden 1995).

Since commencing as a violin maker his work has encompassed the continuing intensive research and inquiry into improving the tonal and optical characteristics of his instruments.
Wolfgang J. Scharff,

geb. 1962 in Saarlouis, wuchs in einer sehr musischen Familie auf. Schon als 6jähriger entdeckte er beim Geigenspiel seine Liebe zu diesem Instrument, die Freude am faszinierenden Klang und der ästhetischen Ausstrahlung des Instrumentes. Daraus wuchs später der Wunsch, selber die besten Streichinstrumente anzufertigen.

Während all der handwerklichen Schulung und Weiterbildung hat er auch seine musikalische Laufbahn weiterverfolgt und im Laufe der Jahre als Konzertmeister des saarländischen Jugendorchesters gespielt, auch als Solist und heute als Geiger beim Konzertverein Isartal. „Schließlich kann man nur durch das eigene Spiel die Funktionalität und Qualität der Instrumente beurteilen."

Die Ausbildung in der väterlichen Geigenbauwerkstatt in Mannheim und bei seinen Lehrmeistern Peter Erben und Stephan Gaes in München, beendete er 1995 mit der Meisterprüfung.

Einen wesentlichen Einblick in die „Philosophie des Geigenbaues" erfuhr er bei anschließenden Workshops durch Jürgen von Stietencron in Italien, durch H.K. Schmidt in Dresden und Francois Perego, Mittenwald.

Prämiert wurden seine Geigen bei Ausstellungen im Rahmen des Jacob Stainer Wettbewerbs (in Freiburg 1990, 1993 und 2001, Prag 1993 und Wiesbaden 1995).

Zu seiner Arbeit gehört seit Anbeginn die ständige intensive Forschung und Recherche zur Verbesserung der klanglichen und optischen Eigenschaften seiner Instrumente.
Wolfgang J. Scharff,